top of page

Sharel Cassity Quartet 2020

  • Whimsy (4:54)
  • Fearless (5:27)
  • North Street (4:20)
  • Road to Dukhan (5:10)
  • Surrender (5:40)
  • Ballad for Roy (4:51)
  • The Very Thought of You (4:36)
  • Not a Samba (3:41)
  • Last Minute (5:18)

Sharel Cassity--alto, soprano (4,8), and tenor (9) saxophones

Richard Johnson, piano

Alex Claffy, bass

Mark Whitfield Jr., drums


All songs composed by Sharel Cassity except "The Very Thought of You" (Ray Noble, arr. Sharel Cassity) and "Last Minute" (Richard Johnson)



"Are you in earnest? seize this very minute–

What you can do, or dream you can, begin it,

Boldness has genius, power, and magic in it,

Only engage, and then the mind grows heated—

Begin it, and the work will be completed!"

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe


Fearless takes the listener on a magic carpet ride through exotic lands, reimagined melodies and unique compositions. Each song a story created from a pivitol event, the music reminds us that the willingness listen, surrender, press on-- requires a certain amount of fearlessness. Through trials and tribulation, it takes faith, forbearance, and wisdom to see things through. In this context, the title "Fearless" doesn't deny the existence of fear but focuses on the strength to follow a path despite fear. If you dare to surrender to it, the courage and calm that exists inside of you will take you to places unimagined and lead you to where you need to be.


    bottom of page